Splitifi
Vermont State Laws
Updated for 2026

Vermont Divorce Laws

Your complete guide to divorce in Vermont.
6 months
Residency Required
6 months
Separation Required
Equitable
Property Division
$12,000
Average Cost

Understanding Vermont Divorce Law

Property Division

Vermont follows Equitable Distribution.
Fair Division

Grounds for Divorce

No-Fault: 6 months separation
Fault or No-Fault

Child Custody

Courts consider best interests factors.
Best Interests

Child Support

Uses the Income Shares Model.
Income Shares Model

Child Custody Factors

1
Relationship of child with each parent
2
Ability of parents to communicate
3
Ability to provide love and guidance
4
Ability to meet developmental needs
5
Quality of adjustment to home, school
6
Ability to foster relationship with other parent
7
Quality of relationship with siblings
8
Evidence of abuse
9
Any other relevant factors

Spousal Support

Temporary Maintenance

During proceedings

Rehabilitative Maintenance

For education or training

Permanent Maintenance

Long-term support

Key Statutes

15 V.S.A. 551
Grounds for Divorce
Living apart 6 months
15 V.S.A. 751
Property Division
Equitable distribution
15 V.S.A. 665
Child Custody
Best interests factors

Recent Changes

2024
Parenting Plan Updates
Vermont updated parenting plan requirements.

Ready to Navigate Your Vermont Divorce?

Get expert guidance tailored to Vermont divorce laws.
All 50 States Covered
Legal Expert Reviewed

We use cookies to understand how the site is used and, with your permission, for advertising and session recording. We never use them on signed-in pages. See our Privacy Policy.