Splitifi
South Carolina State Laws
Updated for 2026

South Carolina Divorce Laws

Your complete guide to divorce in South Carolina. Requires 1 year separation for no-fault divorce.
3-12 mo
Residency Required
1 year
Separation Required
Equitable
Property Division
$11,500
Average Cost

Understanding South Carolina Divorce Law

Property Division

South Carolina follows Equitable Distribution.
Fair Division

Grounds for Divorce

No-Fault: 1 year continuous separation
Fault or No-Fault

Child Custody

Courts consider best interests factors.
Best Interests

Child Support

Uses the Income Shares Model.
Income Shares Model

Child Custody Factors

1
Temperament and developmental needs of child
2
Capacity and disposition of parents
3
Preference of child if mature
4
Past and current conduct of parents
5
Actions to support relationship with other parent
6
Manipulation of child by either parent
7
Stability of each home
8
Any history of domestic violence
9
Any other factors

Spousal Support (4 Types)

Permanent Periodic Alimony

Ongoing support until death or remarriage

Rehabilitative Alimony

For training or education

Reimbursement Alimony

For career sacrifice

Lump Sum Alimony

One-time payment

Key Statutes

S.C. Code 20-3-10
Grounds for Divorce
Separation and fault grounds
S.C. Code 20-3-620
Property Division
Equitable apportionment
S.C. Code 63-15-30
Child Custody
Best interests standard

Recent Changes

2024
Child Support Updates
South Carolina updated child support guidelines.

Ready to Navigate Your South Carolina Divorce?

Get expert guidance tailored to South Carolina divorce laws.
All 50 States Covered
Legal Expert Reviewed

We use cookies to understand how the site is used and, with your permission, for advertising and session recording. We never use them on signed-in pages. See our Privacy Policy.