Splitifi
Rhode Island State Laws
Updated for 2026

Rhode Island Divorce Laws

Your complete guide to divorce in Rhode Island.
1 year
Residency Required
3 months
Post-Hearing Wait
Equitable
Property Division
$12,500
Average Cost

Understanding Rhode Island Divorce Law

Property Division

Rhode Island follows Equitable Distribution.
Fair Division

Grounds for Divorce

No-Fault: Irreconcilable differences causing irremediable breakdown
Fault or No-Fault

Child Custody

Courts consider best interests factors.
Best Interests

Child Support

Uses the Income Shares Model.
Income Shares Model

Child Custody Factors

1
Wishes of child
2
Reasonable preference of child
3
Interaction with parents and siblings
4
Adjustment to home, school, community
5
Mental and physical health of all parties
6
Stability of each home
7
Moral fitness of parents
8
Willingness to encourage relationship
9
History of domestic violence

Spousal Support

Pendente Lite Alimony

During proceedings

Rehabilitative Alimony

For training or education

Permanent Alimony

Long-term support

Key Statutes

R.I. Gen. Laws 15-5-3
Grounds for Divorce
Irreconcilable differences
R.I. Gen. Laws 15-5-16.1
Property Division
Equitable distribution
R.I. Gen. Laws 15-5-16
Child Custody
Best interests standard

Recent Changes

2024
Parenting Plan Updates
Rhode Island updated parenting plan requirements.

Ready to Navigate Your Rhode Island Divorce?

Get expert guidance tailored to Rhode Island divorce laws.
All 50 States Covered
Legal Expert Reviewed

We use cookies to understand how the site is used and, with your permission, for advertising and session recording. We never use them on signed-in pages. See our Privacy Policy.