Splitifi
New Jersey State Laws
Updated for 2026

New Jersey Divorce Laws

Your complete guide to divorce in New Jersey. Features 14 statutory custody factors and reformed alimony laws.
1 year
Residency Required
None
Waiting Period
Equitable
Property Division
$15,600
Average Cost

Understanding New Jersey Divorce Law

Property Division

New Jersey follows Equitable Distribution.
Fair Division

Grounds for Divorce

No-Fault: Irreconcilable differences for 6 months or separation for 18 months
Fault or No-Fault

Child Custody

Courts consider 14 statutory best interests factors.
14 Statutory Factors

Child Support

Uses the Income Shares Model.
Income Shares Model

14 Custody Factors

1
Parents ability to agree and communicate
2
Parents willingness to accept custody
3
Interaction with parents and siblings
4
History of domestic violence
5
Safety of child
6
Preference of child if sufficient age
7
Needs of child
8
Stability of home environment
9
Quality of education
10
Fitness of parents
11
Geographic proximity
12
Extent of time with each parent
13
Parents employment responsibilities
14
Age and number of children

Spousal Support (5 Types)

Pendente Lite

During proceedings

Open Durational

Marriages over 20 years

Limited Duration

Fixed term support

Rehabilitative

For training

Reimbursement

For career contributions

Key Statutes

N.J.S.A. 2A:34-2
Grounds for Divorce
Irreconcilable differences
N.J.S.A. 2A:34-23.1
Property Division
Equitable distribution
N.J.S.A. 9:2-4
Child Custody
Best interests standard

Recent Changes

2024
Alimony Reform
New Jersey continued refinement of 2014 alimony reform act.

Ready to Navigate Your New Jersey Divorce?

Get expert guidance tailored to New Jersey divorce laws.
All 50 States Covered
Legal Expert Reviewed

We use cookies to understand how the site is used and, with your permission, for advertising and session recording. We never use them on signed-in pages. See our Privacy Policy.