Splitifi
Nevada State Laws
Updated for 2026

Nevada Divorce Laws

Your complete guide to divorce in Nevada. Only 6 weeks residency required - fastest in the US.
6 weeks
Residency Required
None
Waiting Period
Community
Property Division
$12,000
Average Cost

Understanding Nevada Divorce Law

Property Division

Nevada is a Community Property state.
50/50 Split

Grounds for Divorce

No-Fault: Incompatibility or living separate for 1 year
Quick Process

Child Custody

Courts prefer joint custody when in childs best interest.
Joint Custody Presumption

Child Support

Uses the Percentage of Income Model.
Percentage of Income Model

Child Custody Factors

1
Wishes of child if sufficient age
2
Nomination by child of guardian
3
Which parent is more likely to allow frequent contact
4
Level of conflict between parents
5
Ability of parents to cooperate
6
Mental and physical health of parents
7
Childs physical and emotional needs
8
Nature of relationship with each parent
9
Ability to meet developmental needs
10
History of parental abuse or neglect
11
History of domestic violence

Spousal Support

Temporary Alimony

During proceedings

Rehabilitative Alimony

For education or training

Permanent Alimony

Long-term support

Key Statutes

NRS 125.010
Grounds for Divorce
Incompatibility, insanity, separation
NRS 125.150
Property Division
Community property equal division
NRS 125C.0035
Child Custody
Best interests factors

Recent Changes

2024
Joint Custody Presumption
Nevada strengthened joint custody presumption.

Ready to Navigate Your Nevada Divorce?

Get expert guidance tailored to Nevada divorce laws.
All 50 States Covered
Legal Expert Reviewed

We use cookies to understand how the site is used and, with your permission, for advertising and session recording. We never use them on signed-in pages. See our Privacy Policy.